Interview with Trendlines

Interview with Trendlines

Postby winston » Sat Oct 09, 2010 9:03 am

After a break of some time, we are please to introduce Trendlines this week:-

1) InvestIdeas: What can you tell us about your background ?

I am an engineer by training, in my mid-30s, and a part-time trader/investor mostly based in Singapore. Learnt investing/trading the-DIY-way.

Started out as a Value Investor. During the crash of 2007, realised the importance of sentiment in the market, and branched out into trading.

After initial success, paid back all the trading capital and more, due to excessive trading and the lack of a money management strategy. Those were my "tuition fees". If one wants to learn to swim in water, one has to swallow a few mouthfuls of it at least

Realised that money management strategies + portfolio allocation is more important than knowing market direction, and started researching them. Elliott Wave Theory gave me an intuitive framework for the market, and I have not looked back since.

2) InvestIdeas: How long have you been investing / trading ?

Investing for about 5 years, and trading for 3, and always learning. A newbie really, compared to the wealth of experience on this forum.

3) InvestIdeas: What is your Investment Strategy ?

It's a Mixed Bag. Both VALUE INVESTING and TRADING have a common underlying theme - markets react to SENTIMENT in the short-medium term, and FUNDAMENTALS in the long-term.

(Ben Graham - "In the short run the market is a voting machine. In the long run it's a weighing machine.")

The Elliott Wave Theory(EWT), first developed by Ralph Nelson Elliott, essentially describes market sentiment in price form on a chart. This method resonated with me inuitively.

Coupled with a few other indicators and simple money management strategies, this has become the framework behind my trading methodology.

Initial Allocation from Savings (Will change with age)
40% - Unit Trusts (Active)
40% - Stocks/ETFs (Passive)