Interview with Peter

Interview with Peter

Postby winston » Sat Mar 20, 2010 7:14 am

This week, we are very please to introduce Peter ...

InvestIdeas: What can you tell us about your background ?

I have a technical degree and am working in the Electronics industry. I come from a family of three

InvestIdeas: How long have you been investing / trading ?

Around 25 years but more seriously, only during the last 15 years or so

InvestIdeas: What is your Investment Strategy ?

No particular strategy, sort of trial and error at the start, paying tuition fees along the way, fine tune and improve along the way.

I'm using a method of multiple crop farming. The idea is to select a crop (can be a stock or a property) where there is weakness or opportunity, good potential for upside, cultivate it, and wait for fruits to ripen for harvesting.

Just like a farmer, it is important that the land is cultivated as much as possible, as there will be no harvest if the land is not planted.

InvestIdeas: What are your favorite books on trading/investing?

I do not read much due to limited time. The famous Peter Lynch book is one of the better ones that I have read.

InvestIdeas: What are your investment vehicles ?

I trade stocks on the STI, HK, DOW , NASDAQ and KLSE.

I started with stocks and have encountered some good investments and some bad ones along the way.

Bad ones especially with share certificates those days, are useless wall paper now.

Decided to diversify into property due to its relative safety of value protection, as long as it's not purchased during an imminent bubble.

Each has its own pros and cons, stocks has advantage of liquidity over property. Property has the advantage of leverage, 20% down and 80% morgage. These vehicles are passive income presently but I intend to make them into regular income streams during retirement.

InvestIdeas: What has been your best investment so far?

Multi baggers in Citicorp, Ho Bee, Oceanus, STATS