Lithium's Investment Journey 01 (Jan 10 - Jul 10)

Lithium's Investment Journey 01 (Jan 10 - Jul 10)

Postby lithium » Sat Jan 23, 2010 11:46 pm

Hello everyone, last saturday I had a wild idea waking up in the morning. I was thinking to post all my trades in the forum and expose all my mistakes. It should be a good way to learn since everyone is watching me when I make mistakes. So I will be more careful. But I wish you guys can advice me when I make mistakes, not just laugh at me. :oops:

Winston requested me to be interviewed last month, I was reluctant. So maybe I can introduce a bit about myself here. I’m very new to the market, only 1 year + experience. But I am already in love with this game. Hopefully one day I can learn enough skills to trade full time like you guys here.

I have read some books past 1 year. Learned basics of both Technical Analysis (from Daryl Guppy & William O’neil) and Fundamental Analysis (from Mary Buffett & William O’neil). And Jim Rogers has convinced me that the bull is in china for the next 10 to 20 years, so I chose to trade Chinese stocks in HK market.

Here are my current trading strategies and rules.

1) I trade only fundamentally sound stocks (Strong growth or undervalued, and no debt problem). I prefer to pick undervalue stocks when market is in recession and extreme fear like 2008, and growth stock when market normalize like 2009 and now. A nice guide to interpret PE ratios:

0-10: Either the stock is undervalued or the company's earnings are thought to be in decline. Alternatively, current earnings may be substantially above historic trends or the company may have profited from selling assets.

10-17: For many companies a P/E ratio in this range may be considered fair value.

17-25: Either the stock is overvalued or the company's earnings have increased since the last earnings figure was published. The stock may also be a growth stock with earnings expected to increase substantially in future.