Contrarian Investing

Contrarian Investing

Postby winston » Tue Jan 26, 2010 10:13 am

I normally start to become uncomfortable when my positions are being parroted on CNBC or are being pushed by the Analysts ..

At the same time, I also use "CANSLIM", "Momentum Investing", "Bubble Investing" etc..

So one of my challenge is, "How to ride a popular position but try to get out before the rest ?" ...

John Templeton mentioned that the best time to sell is when the short term buyers have just finished their buying.

Peter Lynch mentioned that "it's the stomach that makes the money not the brains".

Warren Buffett mentioned that the best time to buy is when others are fearful and vice versa ..

John Templeton also mentioned that the time to buy is when there's blood in the street ( including your own ).

So how does one become a good contrarian investor ?

What do you look for ? Besides the TA indicators ( which I'm not good at ), what do you use ?

What about Trailing Stop Loss ? And what % do you use for your Trailing Stops ?

What about the cloud in Itchy Mushrooms ?

Or the Box in the Trading Range ?

Or stand aside when you feel that 85% of the analysts are bullish ? Or Buy when only 25% of the Analysts are bullish ?

Please do feel free to pen your thoughts here. I would really like to hear your comments ..
It's all about "how much you made when you were right" & "how little you lost when you were wrong"
winston
Billionaire Boss

Re: Contrarian Investing

Postby winston » Tue Jan 26, 2010 2:22 pm

TOL:-

One extreme of Contrarion Investing is believing that you are right and the market is wrong. The worst is to hold a big position and to go strongly against the market.

This is a very dangerous move. Instead, one should stand aside while looking for reasons why the market should go the other way and then wait for the opportunity to execute.

On the other hand, Traders are on the other extreme. Their motto: The trend is your friend until it breaks.